Writers Block

Well, I started this blog with the best of intentions. I meant to write regularly; if not daily then at least every other day. And I had such ideas of subjects to write about.. I was extremely excited about it all. And then, all of a sudden, my writing mojo left me. I don’t know where it went. I didn’t even feel it leave. One day it was there, next day it had disappeared. Gone, in the blink of an eye.

This has happened to me so often over the years. It is the main reason I have never been able to consistently keep a diary or journal. It is probably the reason why my book fell by the wayside, amidst the turmoil of real life. I lose motivation. I don’t lose the desire, oh no! Writing has always been a very big part of who I am, and the biggest dream of who I want to be. I don’t think I will ever lose that desire. But I find it difficult to get past that block, when I have been working all day and my mind is churning with endless lists of things I want to do and thinks I have to do. I just can’t find the energy to write.

It makes me wish that I had more time on my hands to indulge in my passion. But then, I suppose many others are in a similar position to me. Who wants to work a full-time job when there are so many better things to do? Who wants to work their fingers to the bone in some dead end job when we could be out there, chasing those elusive dreams? We would all love to work fewer hours if we had the chance. Unfortunately, we still need to pay the bills and put food on the table. Eventually, those elusive dreams become impossible memories as we work more and more hours to make ends meet, and become embroiled in workplace politics and potential promotions. That dream you were so adamant about chasing becomes a distant memory.

This kind of thing has coloured my writing history throughout the years. But now, at 40, I want to chase that dream, I want to catch it and fulfil my writing desires. Life begins at 40, but it doesn’t just drop into your lap. You have to fight for it. If only my mind would stop creating obstacles that appear too daunting and thus dampen my enthusiasm.

I admit, I am still finding my feet here on WordPress, and my blogs will often appear as rambling soliloquies. But all the better to improve my writing consistency – if it’s on my mind, I will write about it. Thanks for the follow!

15 thoughts on “Writers Block

  1. I understand what you mean. I like to write, but sometimes it’s hard to just pick up after a while. And what you said about the excitement starting a blog, I experienced it too. After a while, the excitement simmers down, but it’s up to us to pick ourselves up and do what we love to do.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. The key is to stay at it. There will be more times than not that you will not feel like writing. I’ve found that just starting with small bits helps. Getting ideas to flow will become easier to do and before long you can knock out some real material. You just have to keep at it. Don’t have anything to really say at the moment? That’s fine. Talk about something you were musing over at breakfast, or a conversation you overheard the other day. Whatever it is, just write. As you do you will find your voice and refine it. Don’t able on about how unsure you are or apologize for talking about nothing. That’s not what you really want to say anyway, so don’t write it. Just be true to your thoughts and your own style will come. What you have to say is valid; just let it out.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. So true! I often sit to write and have so many ideas that I can’t get one to rise to the top; then, frustrated, I walk away. And it’s difficult juggling career, children, activities, eating (eating is a really big deal for me!). But I will not quit. Thanks for sharing your dream and struggle and hope

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Thank you for continuing to blog. I agree that it’s a hard thing to write sometimes. So as long as we keep writing, even through the I don’t have anything to write or want to write times, we’re ok. Write like no one’s watching.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Just 30 minutes ago I had the idea in my head but all of a sudden it was all gone. The motivation disappeared. I guess I just need to write and not think so much about making it sound good to a reader. Idk. Thank you, for sharing your experience and keep writing.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. You communicate so well the frustration many of us feel. I have found that my blogs are suffering due to my time spent on daily tasks. I am, however, bound and determined to make a living as a writer. So whether I am ghostwriting an article or writing a blog post, I vow to write something every day.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

