Happy New Year

As the year comes to a close, I can’t help but feel a little nostalgia. I am leaving behind so much more than just the year, and as I balance on the cusp of new beginnings, I am wracked with doubt and uncertainly of what lies ahead. The melancholy that runs deeply through my veins is brought to the forefront as December ends, and I find myself worrying. I even begin to rehash mistakes from my past, castigating myself for errors I have made, and things I could and should have done differently. If I am not careful, I may spiral into a depression that would ruin all of the hard work I have put into changing my life. This is not something I want, which is why I am writing it all down, in an attempt to deactivate these feelings of unworthiness. 2017 is sure to be better than the past year, and it will be if I believe in myself.

For all of you who are ending the year on a low, know that you are not alone and that others suffer in silence too. The bad times won’t last forever. Have faith in yourself. Happy New Year!

One thought on “Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

