Not That Kind Of Girl

There are days when I wish I was a normal girl. There are days when I envy those who can show their vulnerability. Those pretty, elfin girls with their big, expressive eyes, and their fragile dainty limbs, who men rush to protect if somebody so much as looks at them in the wrong way.

Unfortunately, I have never been able to let my guard down enough to be one of those girls. I am the strong, impassive type; outspoken and independent, able to deal with anything life throws at me. Beside them, the women that men want, I feel over-large and awkward, my hands and feet too big, my features too masculine.

Little does anyone know that, deep down, really deep down underneath so many layers, resides a little, lost girl, desperate for her knight in shining armour to sweep in and rescue her. 

She is well hidden though, and will probably never see the light of day. Instead, I will remain awkward and socially inept, unable to voice my emotions or ask for help, always the capable one. 

Never the princess in the tower, always the warrior with the flaming sword, aloof and distant. Alone.

4 thoughts on “Not That Kind Of Girl

Leave a Reply

